Happy Thanksgiving! Today Everyone is a Turketarian

The day has finally arrived…Happy Thanksgiving! Today, everyone – I mean everyone – is a Turketarian. Men, women, and children of all ages love turkey and the tradition of Thanksgiving.

If there is one thing that I have learned after working at the Butterball Turkey Talk-Line over the past 12 years, it’s that Thanksgiving is the most important meal of the entire year! I find myself involving my whole family in the festivities, from shopping at the grocery store to the meal at the dinner table. Finding jobs for everyone in the family makes even my 1 and 3 year olds feel like they too have an important role in the big day.

20130929_193735

In addition to working at the Butterball Turkey Talk-Line on Thanksgiving Day, I prepare a Thanksgiving meal for my four little ones at home with the help of my husband. Just like all busy parents, often times juggling work, kids, football, ballet, and piano lessons, there isn’t much time for meal preparation. Thankfully, my husband shows no objection to throwing on the apron and cooking away.

Cooking responsibilities are evolving across the board in general and at Thanksgiving – especially with my family. My husband is more involved than ever with cooking and meal prep.

My Thanksgiving table is a perfect example of this – we have a tradition of my husband involving our older sons in the turkey preparation. We have one son help with thawing and one help with removing the giblets. I love to watch them as they work together to get the turkey done (and it takes the stress off me since I’ve been at the Turkey Talk-Line all day!)

So, although traditions and roles may shift, one thing remains the same – Thanksgiving is the most important meal of the year – so spend it with your loved ones and enjoy the ultimate Turketarian holiday!

Post a Comment

