Men Tell All: My First Butterball University

I have a new diploma to hang on my wall. And I couldn’t be prouder.

It’s from Butterball University.

20131112_150159_resized

And it’s my proof that I’ve completed the rigorous training all Turkey Talk-Line experts receive before they jump in answering questions at the Talk-Line.

To top it all off, I was in the inaugural class of Talk-Line experts for men.

That diploma is going to hang center stage on my wall!

So what does one learn at Butterball University? Well, our training manual is about the size of the New York City Yellow Pages. It’s big enough to double as a foot rest. And I’m pretty sure if I were to pack it in my checked luggage, I’d surpass my weight limit!

But let me share with you the three most important things this Butterball University graduate learned:

photo7

HEALTH AND SAFETY FIRST

Everything at Butterball centers on health and safety. This is our number one priority. So when you call the Turkey Talk-Line, you’ll know that all of us have been trained in helping you prepare a delicious and healthy turkey. That’s why we’ll talk to you about:

-Safe ways to thaw your turkey;

-Why you should NOT rinse your turkey;

-Why it’s important to own a meat thermometer and know how to use it;

-Easy tips for smart, food-safe storage of your delicious leftovers!

None of this is complicated. Just give us a call at 1-800-BUTTERBALL (800-288-8372) and we’ll walk you through everything you need to know!

WE CARE ABOUT YOU!

We really do. I had the opportunity to meet and chat with many of the incredible experts who have been involved with the Turkey Talk-Line for years. And the overwhelming theme I continued to hear was how much the entire team of experts cares about you, your family and your guests. Every call is important. And we’ll take all the time you need to help you.

And you don’t have to call us just when you have a crisis! We love receiving messages and questions on Facebook and Twitter from folks like you who just want to talk through simple questions.

One woman has been calling the Talk-Line for more than 20 years. She just likes to check in with the experts to ensure she remembers everything! It’s a call the experts look forward to every year.

This is a reminder to you that we’re here for anything – from the simple questions to the complicated ones. Think of us as family.

photo4

THIS IS SIMPLE!

Without a doubt, one of the biggest “Aha” moments I had during my training at Butterball University was when I realized how simple it is to prepare a tender, juicy, delicious, and memorable turkey!

Our team learned ten different methods to prepare a turkey – from using an open pan, to grilling, to microwaving and everything in between. Each method was a cinch – even if you’re not all that comfortable in the kitchen.

I even learned a few valuable new things! Like basting – you don’t need to do it! I never knew that it actually increases the cooking time and doesn’t really improve your final results. Who knew!?

///

I know I speak for all the new members of the famed Butterball Turkey Talk-Line – as well as the incredible team of experts who so kindly shared their years of knowledge with us – when I say, “Give us a call at 1-800-BUTTERBALL!”

We’re here to help make this Thanksgiving terrific!

Post a Comment

