Second Thanksgiving as Newlyweds: How We Split Roles in the Kitchen

IMG_2629How long do I get to be a newlywed for? We’re getting ready to celebrate our second Thanksgiving as husband and wife and I’m definitely still considering us newlyweds… Let’s celebrate for as long as we can! Thanksgiving has long been my favorite holiday and since I got married, I feel like I have even more to be thankful for. I already had the best family ever and now I get to spend every day with my best friend, sous chef, and chief taste tester. Awww.

When it comes to cooking at home, I still take control in the kitchen. But that’s mainly because cooking is a love of mine, while it’s not one of my husband’s main hobbies. However, because we spend Thanksgiving with my family, it means we spend Thanksgiving in the kitchen together.

Preparing Thanksgiving dinner has always been a family affair for us, which means everyone pitches in. Whether it’s cooking and carving the turkey (my dad), taking control of the sides (my mom) or adding a new recipe or two and preparing appetizers (my sister and her husband and me and my husband); everyone has a role. As a family, we love to cook together and it wouldn’t feel right for me to be cooking on Thanksgiving without my husband by my side. I generally decide what I want to make (and I usually like to try something new to add to the table full of our family’s traditional foods) and ask my husband to be my sous chef. Between chopping, grating, and peeling, he always lends a hand.

Thanksgiving- Turkey

Oh, and we certainly can’t forget the dishes. When everyone pitches in to cook the meal, everyone pitches in on doing the dishes and cleaning the kitchen, too. And once we’re done, we can change into our stretchy pants, fall back onto the couch, and relax.

As we continue to celebrate more Thanksgivings as a married couple, we’ll begin to create more of our own traditions. Will my husband carve the turkey someday like my dad does now? Or will he make an apple pie each holiday that we crave all year round? It’s too soon to tell, but one thing we do know for sure is that we’ll always spend Thanksgiving cooking together. And doing the dishes together, too.

Post a Comment

