HAPPY THANKSGIVING! What I am Thankful For

Happy Thanksgiving!

There is something wonderfully gratifying about gathering together over food and giving thanks for the good things in this life. I believe we all have two families, the one we are given and the one we create through marriage and friendship. Each year as we celebrate Thanksgiving (multiple times in my household), we have the opportunity to reflect on all of the good things in our lives.

Today I am thankful for my family, especially my husband and children. I am thankful for my friends who have offered so much support.

I am thankful for many things great and small, health and comfort, warmth, laughter, good food, good wine, and good friends with whom we create memories.

This year I am incredibly thankful for the honor to work with Cooking With the Troops. CWtT is a non-profit that works with wounded warriors and their families. We teach cooking classes to the wounded and their caregivers, help veterans transition to careers in the culinary field, and put on food events for the wounded. Do you see how much food is a part of who I am? Butterball also works with military families to help teach how to cook a Thanksgiving turkey with their annual Raleigh Butterball University.

I am thankful for the realization of a very big personal goal in 2011, my book Home-Ec 101 was published in April.

It may sound a little silly, but bear with me. I am also very thankful for Butterball and their Turkey Talk-Line. I have a soft spot in my heart for new and aspiring cooks; teaching people to cook is how I got started with my blogging career.

I know how scary it is to take on a big project like Thanksgiving dinner if you just aren’t that sure of your skill level. The Turkey Talk-Line experts have been reassuring new cooks for years! There is no question, turkey related, that they haven’t heard at least once before.  If you weren’t brave enough to tackle the turkey this Thanksgiving, the Turkey Talk-Line experts will be available all of December to handle all of your holiday turkey questions.

Thank you so much for being a part of the Butterball 2011 blog. I have truly enjoyed being a part of this project.

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

